October 1, 2023











Duterte places NCR+ under ECQ from March 29 to April 4

President Duterte has approved placing the National Capital Region-plus (NCR-plus) under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) from March 29 to April 4 due to the alarming increase of coronavirus (COVID-19) cases in the country.

Presidential spokesman Harry Roque announced that the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases decided to place NCR, Bulacan, Rizal, Cavite, and Laguna under ECQ immediately until April 4, the original last day of the bubble.

Under the ECQ, Roque said there will be the implementation of temporary measures imposing stringent limitations on the movement and transportation of people.

There will be a heightened presence of uniformed personnel to enforce community quarantine protocols.
Industries allowed to operate will be strictly regulated.

There will also be the provision of food and essential services.

The Omnibus Guidelines on the community quarantine dictate that only essential businesses and industries like those dealing with food and medical services will be allowed to operate.

Meanwhile, public transportation will remain operational but at limited capacity and will be subject to guidelines to be issued by the Department of Transportation (DOTr).

Essential priority construction projects shall be allowed subject to the guidelines to be issued by the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH).

Mass gatherings, including religious gatherings, are strictly prohibited. This means the previous IATF resolution that allowed the once-a-day religious gatherings for the Holy Week will no longer push through.

Those below 18 years old and above 65, those with comorbidities and other health risks, and pregnant women are required to stay at home except when obtaining essential goods and services.

However, authorized persons outside their residence (APOR) will be allowed outside.

To further limit the movement of people, there will be a strict uniform curfew from 6 p.m. to 5 a.m. in the NCR-plus bubble. APORs, workers, cargo vehicles, and public transportation will not be restricted by such curfew.

The National Task Force (NTF) Against COVID-19, national government agencies (NGAs), and the local government units (LGUs) are tasked to implement Prevent, Detect, Isolate, Treat, Reassess (PDITR) actions.